Chickpea Salad with Garden Herbs, Tomatoes, and Peppers

Chickpea Salad with Garden Herbs, Tomatoes, and Peppers

Over the weekend, my father-in-law was visiting us, and my husband Robert and I decided to prepare a simple and fresh dinner on the first night of his stay. In the morning, before Robert left for work, we discussed making Halibut, which we had just received from a fisherman we work with in Alaska. Knowing that my father-in-law ran an incredibly popular steak and seafood restaurant in Chicago, I thought he would appreciate this sought-after seafood. To complement the fish, I made a quick and refreshing Chickpea Salad using herbs and vegetables from our garden. This salad paired perfectly with the fish and allowed me to spend quality time with my father-in-law while my husband was working. The day and night turned out to be perfect.

Jump To Recipe

  • 1 Small red onion diced
  • 3 Tablespoons chives: we used garlic chives
  • 1 Cup diced tomatoes, any type will work well
  • 1 Chili pepper, we used Pablano (optional)
  • 1/4 Cup chopped parsley
  • 1 Can chickpeas 15-16 oz
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Preparation - 5 minutes Cook Time - 0 minutes Serving 4-5

  1. Start by dicing the red onion, tomato, and chili pepper and placing it in a medium mixing bowl.
  2. Finely dice the chives and parsley.
  3. Add the can of chickpeas that are thoroughly drained.
  4. Then, season with a generous amount of pepper and salt, approx 1/3 teaspoon each.
  5. Drizzle in the olive oil and red wine vinegar.
  6. Stir everything together. This salad can be served immediately or placed into your refrigerator for all the ingredients to marry together. - Enjoy!