Recipes


Ahi Tuna With Braised Baby Mustard Greens and Garlic Smashed Potatoes With Chives
Robert is very particular about the fish he enjoys and knew he would love this dish because it is one of his favorites, Ahi Tuna. Mustard greens originated from India and then moved their way quickly to China. They add a perfect spicy pop of flavor to this dish. We
Baked Jalapeno Poppers With Panko Breadcrumbs
We love to eat flavorful food, including spicy dishes, on numerous occasions. While Jalapeno poppers are tasty, they are typically fried, and I have vowed not to cook fried food at home. This recipe is simple, quick, and requires very few ingredients. We paired it with Baked Mini-Eggplant Parmesan (…
Banana Apple Muffins
Living on a farm requires us to be resourceful and avoid waste. We enjoy having fresh fruit in our kitchen as a tasty and visually appealing snack. However, we sometimes have trouble consuming fruit before it ripens, particularly bananas. To prevent waste, we freeze overripe bananas until we are rea…
Best Herb Potato Salad - Light, Flavorful, and Crunchy
Robert loves Leann’s potato salad and requests it throughout the year for just about any occasion. When Leann developed the recipe she wanted it to be very heavy with dill flavor, have additional herbiness of parsley, wanted a bit of crunch, and not too mayonnaise-forward. The addition of sour crea…
Black and Blue - Steak Salad
This is a perfect salad when you make too many steaks over the weekend and don’t want that incredible steak to go to waste. You will find I make many recipes with ingredients that were prepared beforehand. I don’t let anything go to waste and like to have ingredients on
Broccoli and Mushroom Bake With Speck (smoked meat)
The other day, I went overboard with my broccoli purchase at the grocery store. My husband is not a fan of broccoli on its own but will eat it in a quiche or the classic broccoli soup. As I looked at what we needed to use in the fridge, broccoli,
Carnitas Fajita Pie
Over the weekend, Robert cooked up some delicious Carnitas, and I used the tomatoes and peppers from our garden to create a fresh and tasty pico de gallo. I combined these ingredients to put a new spin on what we had in our fridge. This year, the tomatoes and peppers
Cheesy Cellentani Pasta with Carnitas
Once again, I am transforming the extras that Robert had prepared over the weekend into something extraordinary. He made Carnitas with Pico de Gallo, which was already incredible on its own. However, I wanted to combine all the flavors and add more of a kick to the chili peppers we
Chickpea Salad With Garden Herbs, Tomatoes, and Peppers
Over the weekend, my father-in-law was visiting us, and my husband Robert and I decided to prepare a simple and fresh dinner on the first night of his stay. In the morning, before Robert left for work, we discussed making Halibut, which we had just received from a fisherman we
Chorizo Potato Hash
This dish is a perfect example of how simple ingredients can make the tastiest meals. It’s made with our own organically grown potatoes, eggs from our trusted Amish Organic Supplier, and Chorizo that we source from what we believe to be the best pork farm in the country. This farm,
Cod With Herbed New Potatoes & Chimichurri
I love cooking seasonally and this dish is made up of many items from our gardens from early spring potatoes, herbs, and carrot tops. It is very important for us to utilize every part of the plant and nothing goes to waste. We made this Chimichurri with carrot tops, basil,
Cowboy Caviar - (Corn, Black-Eyed Pea, and Bean Salad)
Cowboy Caviar is a versatile dish that can be served as a side dish, with chips, or as a topping for tacos and other southwestern dishes. It originated in Texas in the 1940s when a chef named Helen Corbit, who worked at Neiman Marcus, was preparing a traditional Texan New
Croatian-Inspired Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Sarma)
I was busy in the garden most of the day, and we had the most beautiful cabbages in the garden that we distributed through our produce membership share plan. I knew I wanted to do something special for Robert and myself. There is a stuffed cabbage dish he talked about
Dal - Lentils with Collards India Southern Fusion Style
Welcome to our blog At Home with Creme de la Crop. We’ve been involved with organic farming for over twenty years. We love creating with the bounty of our gardens. There is a lot more to us that we’ll reveal through this journey of blogging. But for starters, we figured
Dandan Inspired Ground Pork and Rice Noodles with Cabbage
I am always looking to make new, flavorful dishes to spice up what I am serving for dinner. While searching for what to cook with ground pork, I discovered many Dandan Noodle recipes. Dandan is a traditional Chinese noodle dish based on the Sichuan style of cooking. It started as
Forty-Five Minute Chicken and Dumplings Made w/ Chicken Drumsticks and Homemade Stock
We prepared a delicious and nutritious chicken stock using affordable organic drumsticks and a pressure cooker filled with various aromatics. This simple process resulted in a flavorful stock that is rich in healthy collagen from the chicken drumsticks. While you could make the stock on the stovetop, it would take
Garbanzo Bean Curry with Tomato, Kale, and Shrimp
The other day, Robert purchased goods to restock our dry pantry. One of the many dry goods we keep in stock are garbanzo beans. That same frigid day in January, I went out to our garden and discovered our Lasanato Kale was still producing. The wheels in my head started
Garlicky Meatballs Two Ways, Baked and Cooked in Sauce
Meatballs are versatile and can be eaten as a snack, appetizer, sandwich, or served with pasta and bread. I like adding a depth of flavor with herbs from the garden and a great deal of garlic, which is very healthy. The evening I created this recipe was just the start
Garlicky Pasta With Shrimp and Garden Herbs
This recipe is a restaurant-style dish that can be easily made at home with very few ingredients. We used two jalapeno peppers to add some heat and garlic flavor to the dish. For the herbs, we picked parsley and chives from our garden, but any herb blend can be used
German Style Side Dishes - Potato Salad + Asparagus With Mushrooms & Bacon
Now that fall has arrived, I wanted to celebrate my German heritage by making an authentic German meal. I purchased German bratwurst from the local grocery store and knew Robert would be delighted to cook it on the grill for our family meal over the weekend. We decided to create
Grilled Chicken Salad With Grapes and Walnuts
Robert and I have a tradition where we have a family meal with friends on Sundays. Typically, this involves Robert firing up the smoker or grill. He cooks up a storm and sometimes throws on some chicken breasts we can prepare throughout the week. I love it when he does
Heirloom Tomato Pico de Gallo
We have some of the most beautiful heirloom tomatoes and peppers growing in our garden. And what better way to make use of them than by whipping up some fresh Pico de Gallo? Unlike regular salsa, Pico de Gallo is never heated and boasts a wonderfully fresh taste. This versatile
Heirloom Tomato Risotto With Herbs
This time of summer, the tomatoes are in abundance. I wanted to try to do something a little differently. So I looked into the pantry and noticed Arobrio Rice, Bone Broth, and Risotto came to mind immediately. I thought the creaminess of the risotto would pair well with our garden
Herbed Lemony Pasta Salad With Peas
Here’s a quick and easy pasta dish that you can make with ingredients you probably have at home. Frozen peas are always on hand in our house and they add a nice texture to the dish. Lemons add a fresh taste while peppers give a sweet crunch. Parsley is a
Herbed Tuna Salad with Stone Ground Mustard and Dill Pickles
When I prepare Tuna Salad, I want it to have a variety of textures, freshness, and a bit of spice. The key to achieving this is to start with the best canned tuna you can find. Use fresh herbs, pickles, and aromatic vegetables like celery and red onion. For added
Herbed Turkish Rocket and Fennel Salad
I made this salad using a variety of vegetables harvested from our garden early in the summer. We grew Turkish Rocket for the first time, which has long leaves that can be eaten raw, blanched, sautéed, or added to soups and stews. It has a bitter taste similar to radicchio,
Kielbasa, Saurkraut, Potatoes, and Herbs
During early spring, when the perennial herbs were peaking out of the ground and the weather was still cool, this dish was created. This classic and simple dish is enhanced by the freshness of the long-awaited herbs. You can enjoy this dish throughout the year, but it is best suited
Leann’s Seasonal Minestrone Soup
I simply love minestrone. You can make this seasonal with summer zucchini or in the fall with turnips or rutabaga. If you do not have a garden you can always visit your local farmers market and pick up seasonal produce for your area. This zesty soup is fantastic for just
Meatloaf Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms
While grocery shopping I noticed a beautiful display of portobello mushrooms and knew this would be something fun and delicious to work with. It took me a few days to figure out what I wanted to do with them and then it hit me, meatloaf stuffed into the mushroom caps.
Mini Japanese Eggplant Parmesan
It was late in the growing season, and the garden was pretty picked over, but some crops were still flourishing, including the Japanese Eggplant. We prefer this variety because it is small, tender, and not bitter. Although eggplants are not a fast-growing crop, we can get a few harvests during
Mushroom Stroganoff With Truffle Buttered Noodles
It was a cool summer evening and I wanted to prepare something earthy and rich in flavor. Mushrooms are one of my favorite things to cook with and they are so versatile. Most Stroganoff recipes call for beef but you can easily substitute mushrooms in most dishes that call for
Mustard Greens and Italian Sausage Quiche With Savory Butter Crust
I love using the produce from my garden in creative ways that match the current weather. Usually, I prepare mustard greens as a side dish with a quick braise. However, I had some extra time tonight and wanted to reconnect with my family roots by making crust from scratch. I
Lemon Parmesan Chicken With Eggplant and Tomato Ragu
I wanted to make eggplant parmesan with chicken but decided to cook a different dish because the winter tomatoes that Robert brought home were very flavorful. These tomatoes were left on the vine, which made a huge difference compared to regular grocery store winter tomatoes. Eggplants and tomatoes are from
Layered Taco Salad
Some recipes require immediate serving after preparation as they lose quality quickly. Due to Robert’s work schedule, I have devised several innovative methods to create recipes with unique assembly instructions. You can prepare the majority of the recipe beforehand and assemble it completely when y…
Orzo With San Marzano Tomatoes, Parsley, and Feta (Greek-inspired)
I enjoy cooking with fresh ingredients that are in season and available in our garden and pantry. Recently, I picked a few San Marzano tomatoes and some parsley from the garden. Along with other pantry staples, I could whip up a delicious and healthy meal for myself and Robert in
Parmigiana Crusted Chicken with Asparagus
I made this dish in the spring when asparagus was in season. It is a very satisfying dish that you can make in one Pyrex dish. It is my preference to prepare the chicken paillard style by cutting the breasts in half and pounding them out thinner. You will have
Pasta Primavera - Creamy Blue Cheese
Pasta Prevemera is an American dish invented in the seventies that consists of pasta and veggies with a cream sauce. Mostly, you will find this dish made with a parmesan cheese sauce. When I first started to dive into cooking in my early twenties, I made a version of Pasta
Potato Salad - Steak House Style
I enjoy making potato salad in many ways, depending on the season, available ingredients in our kitchen, and my current cravings. During my time as a designer in Chicago, I was introduced to a potato salad with cured meat, which I loved. In Croatia, where my husband Robert is from,
Puppy Risotto
At our farm, we let our dogs roam free during their walks. However, they sometimes ingest things that don’t agree with their stomachs. In such cases, we give them rice to soothe their digestion. One day, when I was in a hurry and our feeding time of six pm was
Salisbury Steak Meatballs with Mushroom Gravy over Garlic Smashed Potatoes
Resourcefulness is a top priority for us whenever we cook or do anything on the farm. For this dish, we used bread that I made a few days ago that was getting stale, potatoes from the garden that were harvested four months ago, and mushrooms from the refrigerator that needed
Sausage Cevapcici (Cevapi) With Spring Vegetable Saute
Robert and I are very traditional people and his family originated from Croatia. His parents had several restaurants in Chicago and he started cooking at a very young age at the facilities and home with the family. We are constantly meal planning, talking about food and the produce we grow
Some Like It Hot Chicken With Corn Succsatash
I had a craving for wings from a nearby eatery but opted to whip up a wholesome alternative using the ingredients on hand in our fridge and freezer. We had some juicy corn on the cob, a variety of peppers, red onions, cherry tomatoes, and fresh cilantro. Hot sauce and
Shrimp Pad Thai
I love to eat Pad Thai just about any time of the year. The complex flavors in the sauce keep me wanting to come back for more. Typically this dish is prepared and served immediately when all the ingredients are at their best texture. With Robert’s and my busy schedule
Shrimp With Spicy Cocktail Sauce
It was a hot summer night, and I wanted to make Robert and myself something light, cool, and refreshing. So what would be more perfect than Spicy Shrimp Cocktail? I always have a bag of frozen jumbo shrimp in my freezer, lemons in the refrigerator, and more condiments that will
Smokey Turnip, Potato and Lentil Soup
All members of your CSA received more than their fair share of turnips, including a prized one that weighed seven pounds. Turnips can be used as a substitute for potatoes in most recipes, as they contain less starch and belong to the same family as cauliflower. With fall in full
Spinach Mushroom Lasagna
Lasagna can be made in so many ways and this one hit the spot on all levels without the addition of meat. I created this dish in early spring while the weather still had a bit of chill in the air and the garden was just starting to flourish. Our
Southwestern Pork Chop Soup
Over the weekend, Robert grilled pork chops and sweetcorn, and we had some leftovers in the refrigerator. I thought of making chili with them, but we didn’t have enough canned tomatoes. Instead, I decided to use the pork chops to make a Southwestern Pork Chop soup. Luckily, we always keep
Spicy Kielbasa Sausage Soup with Mustard Greens and Turnips
As summer draws to a close, the evenings are getting cooler. I wanted to make a warm and flavorful dish using the vegetables from my garden. On the day I prepared this recipe, we harvested many peppers, turnips, and mustard greens. I wondered how these ingredients would taste together and
Strawberry Shortcake Muffins With Macerated Berries In a Balsamic Vinegar Sauce
Who doesn’t love a classic Strawberry Shortcake for dessert or just about any time of the day? Our recipe takes this classic dish to a whole new level of deliciousness. We always aim to enhance the flavors of the dishes we prepare, and this one is no exception. To achieve
The Best BLT, Heirloom Tomatoes on a Toasted Olive Oil Bread with Thick Cut Pasture Bacon
It was the height of tomato season in August. My husband Robert sent me a text suggesting BLT for dinner. I thought, how will I make the best possible Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato sandwich? It all starts with the bread. The bread I selected is an Olive Oil Bread, which
The Best Leftovers From Thanksgiving - Turkey Pot Pie
My mother-in-law is an amazing cook who owned three restaurants in Chicago. Her final restaurant, named after herself, “Violet’s Cafe,” won awards. She is of Croatian descent and prepares all the wonderful traditional European dishes during Thanksgiving, including the American classic Roasted Turkey. We were fortunate enough to take home
Ultimate Deli-Styled Krakus Ham and Cheese Sandwich
There are countless variations of ham and cheese sandwiches, with each culture adding its own unique twist. However, I decided to make a deli-style version with a slight twist on the classic cold sandwich. My goal was to toast the bread with high-quality olive oil, serve the meat and cheese
Week Day Pork and Beef Tacos
After a long day at the farm on a typical weekday, I wanted to prepare a tasty and straightforward meal. We had all the necessary ingredients for tacos, and I knew Robert would appreciate them too. I named this recipe Weekday Tacos since we did not serve an elaborate spread
Week Day Shrimp and Vegetable Sauté
Preparing shrimp is one of the simplest ways to cook protein, so I use it frequently. I created this dish using ingredients from my garden, resulting in a flavorful and nutritious meal. Herbs enhance the taste while providing essential nutrients. The addition of lemon adds a refreshing touch and bal…